Inside the beauty bag|With Emily Fossitt

I’ve roped in a fellow lover of all things beauty and in this guest post Emily will spill out the contents of her make up bag and talk you through her favourite products and her ultimate Autumnal look. Hope you enjoy!

Hello lovely readers! I’m Emily Fossitt. 20 years old, currently doing my Social Work training at Oxford Brookes University and a certified beauty addict. I can’t walk past Boots or Superdrug without just “nipping in”. By nipping in I mean spending an hour in there and nearly always coming out with a new purchase. Thinking about it, I would say that my love of make-up probably came from my Mum as she takes pride in her appearance and make up. She always taught me that it’s important to make the most of yourself everyday as you never know who you are going to bump in to! I have always suffered with spot-prone skin which I know so many people struggle with. Make-up has always been there to help me out, whether it’s to cover up or just simply to make me feel that little bit better on a particularly low day.

Autumn is one of my favourite times to experiment with make-up – the temperature is dropping, so you feel you can apply more product without it melting off, and I happen to absolutely love Autumnal colours; browns, coppers and golds etc. This is the look I went for!

em 3

Below are all the products I used for this Autumnal look and I will talk you through how I achieved it!

wpid-img_20140910_172236.jpg

So to begin with, I prepped my skin using The Body Shop’s ‘Insta Blur’ primer. I have only recently started using this primer and WOW it makes such a difference! It provides an excellent base and I really noticed the difference in the appearance of my pores. I would definitely recommend this! I then started tackling those pesky blemishes using the No.17 ‘Stay Time’ Concealer. I love this concealer, it’s so creamy and I think it gives really good coverage. I might even prefer it to … (dare I say it?) the Collection Lasting Perfection concealer.

For this look, I wanted my foundation to be somewhere in between a matte and a dewy finish but my skin can get extremely oily so I went with the Clinique ‘Anti-Blemish Solutions’ Foundation in the shade 02 Fresh Ivory. The great thing about this foundation is that it does actually help spot-prone skin which is perfect for me and I’ve definitely noticed a difference. I used the No.17 Miracle Matte pressed powder to set my base. I wasn’t expecting much from this and I thought it would be too thick but it really surprised me. I applied this only in the areas I really needed it, mainly my T-zone and it works brilliantly.

For blush, I wanted to change up my usual pink shade for a warmer colour. I went for Clinique’s ‘101 aglow’ blush which is a really gorgeous bronze colour with a slight shimmer. To contour, I used B.‘s B. Sculpted contour kit. I find the contour shade to be really natural and easy to blend and put this in the hollows of my cheeks and around the outside of my face. Finally, I used the Dior ‘Nude Shimmer’ powder to highlight the tops of my cheekbones. This is a dream to apply and is probably my favourite product in my collection because you only need a small amount but it adds so much to your make-up look and can really lift my whole complexion.

On to eyes! I decided to use the Urban Decay Naked 2 Palette for this look because it has my all time favourite colour: Chopper. This is a really beautiful copper colour which is very highly pigmented. It also brings out blue eyes (like mine!). I started by putting chopper all over my lid and blended the colour tease through my crease and along my lower lash line. Booty Call on my brow bone and inner corners just pulls this eye look together. Finally, for lips, I used The Body Shop Colour Crush Lipstick in the shade 110. To me, this is the perfect Autumn lip colour. It’s a deep red/orange colour and if you’re like me and don’t like wearing really bright or really dark lipsticks, this is perfect for you! It’s subtle but warm and truly beautiful!

So there you go, that’s my go-to Autumn make up look. I really hope you liked it!

Thanks to Emily for this post! Really enjoyed making this one. Em and Jess x

Leave a Reply

