Gazpacho in 5 minutes recipe

image

 Yes, that is an edible flower. The extreme lengths I go to to make things pretty for you!

The Beauty Sanctuary will always primarily be dedicated to all things beauty but I like to mix it up every once in a while and share other things I love. Most families have a ‘famous dish’ and the dishes I’ve grown up with have been cooked by my mum and are very Mediterranean based. I think I’m really lucky to have been brought up with a wide variety of really good food cooked by a woman who knows what she’s doing but if I had to pick just 3 dishes that I have learnt from my mum and will make throughout the rest of my life, they would be gazpacho, cataplana ( a Portuguese seafood stew) and Paella. I go through phases of liking and disliking paella….I don’t like it with meat, just seafood! My favourite is probably gazpacho so here is my take on it! Gazpacho is a chilled, vegetarian, tomato based soup originating from Spain. I would just like to point out that I am a MASSIVE fan of butter, cream, pastry and basically anything with tons of butter and cream in it so I’m not in to all this healthy eating, chia seed rubbish but this soup is extremely healthy, extremely tasty and I absolutely love it.

image

There is no cooking involved, all you need to do is put the following ingredients in to a blender, pour in to your bowl and enjoy! (Based on serving for 2 people):

  • Around 4-5 fresh tomatoes 
  • 1/2 tin of tomatoes or passata 
  • 1 red pepper
  • 1/2 a cucumber
  • 2 slices bread (preferably stale bread to add more texture)
  • 2 cloves garlic (peeled)
  • 1 tbsp vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 tsp salt (I usually use 2 tsp because I am a salt fiend)

Notes: I keep the skin on everything (tomatoes, cucumber) etc but if you don’t want the skin on then feel free to peel away to your heart’s desire! I also add whatever is lying around so for this, I used a bit of lime, chilli and coriander but you can use whatever you want.

You can follow me on Twitter, Instagram and Bloglovin!

 

What are your favourite family recipes/dishes that remind you of your childhood or when you were growing up? I’d love to know! Jess x

8 thoughts on “Gazpacho in 5 minutes recipe

  1. I’ve actually never tried gazpacho for some reason… perhaps because the idea of a cold soup puzzles me. Maybe I should try it though as it looks very easy to make!

    As to family recipes… my dad always did all the cooking and mom did all the baking, but neither of them really kept any recipes around as they had it all memorized and they liked to wing it – especially my dad. Most Finnish families ate very simple, traditional meals, like meatballs and mash, sausages in brown sauce & potatoes, ground beef sauce and hearty soups. You get the idea. My dad was always really into cooking and he loved cooking foods from around the world so we had things like orange chicken with a Chinese recipe (absolutely amazing), blinis from Russia, tzatziki and moussaka from Greece, etc etc, you get the idea 😀 Eating at home was usually -better- than eating at restaurants!

    One very simple and easy meal that my dad used to make and I loved and have started to make pretty much every weekend is a simple salmon with boiled potatoes and this cold, sour cream-mustard sauce… Easy to make and always turns out delicious 🙂 (I miss dad and his cooking <3)

    1. ‘Eating at home was usually better than eating at restaurants’…I’m in London staying with my friend and this is the EXACT thing I said to her because we had lasagna and fried suid last night and it wasn’t half as good as my mums! I loved reading this comment and found it so interesting so thank you! Please try making this gazpacho and I promise the cold soup thing will all make sense to you, it’s so, so, so delicious. Especially if you’re a garlic lover like I am haha x

      1. I also looooove garlic! Mmmm… I don’t know if cold soup is the way to go in the middle of Finnish winter, but summer… that might be good. I think I will still try making this, because it would also make a great lunch to take to work with me!

Leave a Reply

