The February Base

feb base2

It’s still freezing, my skin is still looking a bit dull and drab BUT I’m no longer on the hunt for the perfect luminizing/highlighting base to perk my skin up because I now own Kiko’sΒ skin glow base. I’m in love with it because it adds a beautiful, subtle luminosity to the skin and although its purpose is to be used as a base for foundation, it isn’t reminiscent of those heavy silicone based products on the market. Sidenote – even from working for Dior and watching the glow maximising primer fly off the shelves, I actually think this Kiko one is a lot better and glides on to the skin a lot more evenly. For foundation, I want something moisturising and light because as we all know, I hate heavy bases and MAC’s face and body is still a firm favourite in my foundation collection which I apply with my Louise Young LY34 brush because it takes about 1.5 seconds to apply it evenly on my face.

I don’t always use concealer but when I do, I’ve been really liking Revlon’s colorstay concealer which is a very good dupe for MAC’s pro longwear concealer. To brighten up my complexion and add a bit of colour, I will always go back to Sleek’s blush in pixie pink which looks like a really scary, neon barbie pink but it looks really beautiful on the skin. I love the current base I’ve got going on because they’re all affordable products but have the quality of good high end products!

You can follow me on Instagram & Bloglovin! Jess x

18 thoughts on “The February Base

  1. I like to use physicians formula argan wear 100% pure argan oil before applying my foundation.. It’s natural looking illuminated look is light weight on on my skin. It’s has so many other uses too..

  2. I have just bought the MAC face and body and their concealer and LOVE them having been a Chanel lady for years and thinking MAC was just for the younger ones I am delighted with it and feel fab! Great article x

      1. Ah bless you thank you – ditto it is so refreshing to follow such ambitious and knowledgeable young people like yourself as well as “oldies” like myself.!Thanks again

      2. Thank you I don’t feel 50! I believe that age is just number and it is how you feel in you head and your heart – keep writing and follow your dream! x

Leave a Reply

