Inside The Beauty Bag With Kate

20150302_153809545_iOS

20150302_153157766_iOS

 I met Kate at a beauty event in London last year and aside from being absolutely stunning, she’s the sweetest lady ever. You can check her blog out here. Take it away, Kate!

kate

Hi everyone! I’m Kate from Kate Louise Blogs and I’m thrilled to be writing my very first guest post here at The Beauty Sanctuary. Thanks so much for having me, Jess!

As a matter of fact, the opportunity to write this post could not have come at a better time. I’ve recently moved house, which basically
means I’ve spent a good couple of weeks managing with the bare minimum makeup-wise while everything else has been packed up in boxes. (And yes, I do mean boxes, plural. It’s been quite an eye-opener to discover exactly how much space in my home is taken up by makeup, beauty products, hair tools, etc!)

Anyway, the situation forced me to think quite hard about which products I could manage without for a little while, and which I absolutely couldn’t. As it was a particularly busy time, I also wanted things that were quick and easy to apply, and neutral enough to go with whatever I was wearing without me having to think about it. Here’s what I came up with – a capsule makeup bag of hero products that saw me through a very stressful time!

Base – My skin is not the best, so face products is not an area I skimped on. I chose my favourite foundation, Estee Lauder Double Wear, Collection Lasting Perfection concealer and Rimmel Stay Matte powder.

Brows – Benefit Brow Zings palette is so compact and lightweight – perfect for travelling. There’s even a handy little pair of tweezers inside. Forgive me for not showing the inside of this palette in the photo, but it’s well-used and well-loved and in no fit state to be seen! Basically, it comprises of a brow powder and a waxy product that helps to keep the hairs in place.

Blush – I decided to allow myself only one cheek product. Normally, that would be a bronzer, but having received an Hourglass Ambient Lighting blush for Christmas, I decided to take this with me, mainly because it’s so pretty that I couldn’t bear the idea of packing it in a box. This stuff is like a natural glow in powder form. Magic!

Eyes – Maybelline Color Tattoo in On and On Bronze gives the prettiest shimmer – you don’t need any other shadows when you’re wearing this, which made it perfect for my purposes. Eyelash curlers are essential for me as my lashes are dead straight, and L’Oreal’s Volume Million Lashes is one of my favourite mascaras. I always go for the waterproof version as my eyes can get irritated quite easily, and the last thing I want is rivers of mascara running down my face. Not my favourite look!

Lips – I went for L’Oreal Liquid Lipstick in Molto Mauve. I love this product. Glossy without being sticky, a pretty, neutral shade and with a shine that gave me a much needed feeling of glamour amid all the chaos of moving.

So there you have it! I hope you enjoyed this peek into my “moving house makeup bag”. Please feel free to drop into Kate Louise Blogs and say hi any time – you’ll find fashion and beauty, a smattering of lifestyle and plenty of chat!

Kate x

4 thoughts on “Inside The Beauty Bag With Kate

Leave a Reply

