Confessions Of A Beauty Blogger

flower4

1. I probably write 80% of my beauty posts whilst sat on my bed in an oversized jumper and pyjama bottoms with my hair tied back and my glasses on looking like some kind of gremlin – is that irony? I still don’t understand irony…………..help.

2. I strongly dislike ‘instagram brows’/dip brow gone wrong – They don’t look natural, they don’t look hairy and they should have stayed where they came from – with drag queens. It’s safe to say I really, really, really do not like ‘Instagram makeup’ and badly overdrawn lips.

3. I currently have 23 different foundations on the go – Ridiculous I know but I am a foundation/tinted moisturiser fiend and I just feel like I need them all even though I’m very aware that I don’t!

4. This takes a hell of a lot of work – The opportunities that have happened for me because of my blog have been incredible and more than I could have ever wished for but it has taken a lot of work and I work on it every day. A lot of people don’t appreciate the time and effort that go in to blogs so now I’ll reel out a dramatic list of all the things we do (in all seriousness, it is a lot of work haha!)……

Emails – getting your professional head on and replying to emails from PR’s, brands and companies, checking your emails 1,000,000 times a day to make sure you don’t miss anything and emailing posts over.

Photographing products – one of the most frustrating things, ever. The settings on my camera still confuse the shizz out of me and it takes about 20 minutes to get a photo I’m happy with. Taking photos at the right time to get the optimum amount of natural sunlight, setting up artificial lighting and photography backgrounds, going through silly amounts of packets of white tac to stick products down so they look just right and not forgetting the dreaded moment when your camera battery dies just before you were about to get the perfect picture. Side note – I’m doing a post soon on how I set up a DIY mini photo studio!

Editing & Uploading – something well known in the YouTube world but not so much in the blogging world. Transferring photos from your memory card to your laptop, editing photos, uploading them in posts, categorising your posts, adding appropriate tags, sizing photos and aligning them all to the same size.

Writing the posts – endless amounts of imagination and brain storming are needed and a lot of effort goes in to the posts that bloggers write. Obviously one of the most challenging things about blogging but one that speaks for itself!

Please let me know what you thought of this post and if you can relate in anyway! You can follow me on Instagram & Bloglovin! Jess x

 

17 thoughts on “Confessions Of A Beauty Blogger

  1. I’m so glad to know there’s a beauty blogger out there that still prefers the natural brow look! I’m all for dramatic looks, but I just can’t get with the fake brow look.

  2. Editing is daunting! I love some apps on my phone so I will take a pic with my camera then email it to me and save it to my phone to edit then email it back to me and save to my computer. Sometimes If I get lucky the pics on my phone will look better then the camera so that saves me a step. And I will take about 20 photos of the same pose just to be sure I get a good pic lol But I love it!

  3. Love this post!! It is a lot of work being a blogger. It’s pretty much a full-time job in itself with social media and everything. I write lots of my posts in pajamas too. 🙂

  4. Another great post, thank you. My pet hate is waiting for good natural lighting for photo taking!
    Other than that, I enjoy reading and writing blogs with all other bits that comes with it 🙂

    1. I’m doing a post soon on how I make a DIY mini photo studio for those times when natural lighting isn’t good enough/available. Hopefully you’ll enjoy it and it will be helpful for you! x

  5. Hahaha..exactly, specially no. 2,3 & 8…I keep asking my self while on Instagram “is that beautiful”??!!, and the makeup addiction..ha tell me about it, my wish list have 92 different products..😱

Leave a Reply

