Spring Trend Poppy Red Lips

poppy2

There were a lot of poppy red lips on the red carpets and runways this year and beauty trends for Spring 2015 are all about that bright poppy lipstick. This look is reminiscent of Burberry’s SS15 ‘the birds and the bees’ runway look, remember that? I think poppy lips look great when they’re paired with a simple eye look so nothing is detracting away from the lips so I only dabbed my lashes with mascara, used a warm toned shadow and only used a brow gel on my brows. For my base, I just applied a light layer of face and body and skipped on concealer but you could obviously use whatever you want! There are so many shades on the market to choose from but I’ve gone for a really affordable one which is Rimmel’s moisture renew lipstick in ‘in love with ginger’. A shade like NARS ‘Annabella’ lipstick which I did a review of here would also look great!

I love the moisturising formula of this lipstick but a slightly more matte finish is more wearable so I blotted down my first layer of this, added a second layer and then pressed a tiny amount of translucent loose powder over the top which does not affect the colour at all but just makes any lipstick you’re wearing a little more matte.

Below are all the products I used and I had to include the last picture because I thought it was hilaire. I was trying to change the settings on my camera but was obviously having some difficulty doing and managed to accidentally take a photo…….the concentration.

 MAC face and body, MAC woodwinked and Bobbi Brown’s full coverage face brush

popa

 I love reading all your comments so please tell me what you think about anything in this post! You can trot on over to Instagram & Bloglovin and follow me. Jess x

16 thoughts on “Spring Trend Poppy Red Lips

Leave a Reply

