Smokey Makeup For Hooded Eyes

smokey

smokeyeye

smoke

The never ending question of ‘how to do smokey eyes on hooded eyes’ seems to be cropping up here, there and everywhere and as a girl who has hooded eyes and a few tricks and tips up her sleeves, I thought I’d share them in this post. A lot of people seem unhappy about having hooded eyes but I actually think that in most cases, hooded eyes are often elongated and seem a tad more narrow, giving that sultry, cat eye effect which I personally really like.

If you have a hooded eye shape, it means that your mobile lid will be less visible when you have your eyes open hence why so many people find it difficult to achieve the smokey eye look because it’s hard to actually see any shadow work when your eyes are open. So, here are my two top tips for mastering the look when you haven’t got a lot of lid space to work with:

Creating the illusion of a more prominent crease – the use of shadows in makeup serve to create illusions, right? So to give the appearance of a more definite crease/socket line, we need to use shadows to push back that area. Go for a matte shadow (I like the MAC paintpots because I like working with creams) and work it in slightly above where your natural crease lies to open up the eye and create the illusion of a larger mobile lid.

Work outwards, not upwards – (I often do an ‘all over lid’ smokey eye with just one shadow which this doesn’t apply to). Generally speaking, hooded eyes tend to be almond shaped so by pushing the shadows outwards, we’re enhancing that shape and creating smokiness around the eyes. I find it easiest to do this by working with kohl pencils and lining my upper lash line and smudging it outwards with a pencil brush. Β I say kohl pencils in particular because they give you a bit of play time to work with them compared to something like the Urban Decay 24/7 pencils which literally don’t budge after 2 seconds of applying them.

Hope this maybe helped, it’s very hard to explain without talking through it in a video so I hope I made some sort of sense haha! Jess x

24 thoughts on “Smokey Makeup For Hooded Eyes

  1. Thanks for these helpful tips, I have more of a hooded eye. My biggest thing that I hate is getting the shadow that I put on my lid rubbed off up more towards my brow bone if that makes any sense lol. πŸ™‚ xo

  2. I love this eye shadow look! Amazing! I have fairly hooded lids and usually do the “all over lid smokey eye with just one shadow” thing too. I also look for pics of celebs who have hooded lids, like Jennifer Lawrence, to check out their eye makeup. Its inspiring to see such pretty looks like this on hooded lids!

  3. I love your eye make up! I have problems with doing a smokey eye look on my eyes too, it just looks weird the moment I open up my eyes. I’m like, that’s not what I envisioned it to be…. 😦
    Thanks for the tips though, I’ll give it a shot and see if they work on my eyes πŸ˜€

  4. How do you do a smoky eye with just one shadow? I’ve never really heard of hooded eyes until recently but I’m sure I have them.

    Amy at Amynmore.blogspot.co.uk

    1. Just literally wash it all over the lid and in to the crease for a really natural but slightly smokey look! You can also get duo chrome shadows that change colour depending on whether the light is hitting the shadow or not which are really good for all over the lid smokey eyes x

Leave a Reply

