The Concealer Everyone Loves But I Hate

agerewind   This is like history repeating itself with the Collection lasting perfection concealer which everyone loved but I personally hate. I think the reasons why I really dislike this Maybelline instant age rewind eraser so much are the same as my reasons for hating the Collection concealer. For someone who strongly dislikes this product, a lot of it has been used up and that is because even though I have only used it 3 or 4 times, every time I twist the top to actually get some product, A LOT of concealer is absorbed by the sponge but then hardly anything actually transfers from the sponge applicator to my skin. When I eventually get some concealer out of the sponge, the formula of the concealer is dry, heavy and cakey looking. I also find that this oxidises really badly and just looks plain awful on the skin. This next point doesn’t apply to me directly and is based on principle really but one of the reasons I will always favour high end bases over drugstore bases is the ignorance with shade selection. As far as I have seen, this (like most other drugstore concealers and foundations) does not cater towards dark skin. They might as well have stickers on these concealers saying ‘if you’re not Caucasian or anywhere in the fair-to-medium category, you can’t use our product’. I know some people don’t have an issue with this next gripe but I personally find the sponge applicator disgusting. The amount of excess product build up in the sponge that eventually dries out and becomes flaky is….ew. I know this is a very negative review (sorry!) but I cannot find a single positive with this product and I would go as far as saying that it is one of the worst products I’ve ever bought and tried.

Do you like/dislike this concealer? You can follow me on Instagram & Bloglovin! Jess x

30 thoughts on “The Concealer Everyone Loves But I Hate

  1. I really wanted to try this concealer but even the lightest shade is just way too orange toned for me, its a shame. Sad to hear it really didn’t work for you, I hope you find an alternative that you love!

    alice x | beautybyalicee | bloglovin’

  2. I’m exactly the same with the Collection concealer! So drying and thick; I can’t think of any way to use it without looking cakey. Thanks for sharing this, I was considering purchasing and have now definitely thought the better of it! x

  3. I have this concealer but it doesn’t WOW me. It’s okay. I don’t think there is anything special about it. I mean I have used better concealers of course. I just feel like I have to use it up because my bf bought it for me when I wanted to try it lol.

  4. I didn’t like the Collection concealer as it was very drying. But i do like this one IF it’s better coverage. I don’t generally like sponge applicator like this, things I can’t wash bus me big time.

  5. I am SO happy to finally find someone else who doesn’t like. I originally liked it because I found a good shade for me (which is surprising) but I then found it pretty cakey. I wasn’t crazy about the sponge (it’s not very hygienic) and it doesn’t help that mine got stuck and I couldn’t get any more product out – and I hadn’t used half of it!
    Ivory Avenue

  6. Wow! Literally everyone raves about it! I’ve been thinking about buying it for quite awhile but like you I don’t like the idea of the sponge applicator. At the minute am using the benefit erase paste which I don’t love not hate but have to mix it with collection lasting perfection as it’s too orangey. The concealer am Lusting for at the minute is the NARS one! It looks amazing but for someone who doesn’t really have problems around the eyes am not sure I can justify the price! X

    1. so many comments on this post have been to do with how orange some concealers are! I find this to make my under eye area look darker and just straight up weird haha. I’m the same as you (don’t really get dark circles/darkness etc) under my eyes and MAC’s moisture cover is quite good although I don’t think it’s my perfect concealer…still on the hunt! x

  7. I love my Clarins concealer,although that only comes in 3 shades which is a bit annoying. Failing that my Nars concealer has never let me down x

  8. I totally agree with your opinion! I bought it a few weeks ago due to so many people raving about it and I hate it. It is so cakey and barely covers anything. I definitely will not be buying it again!! xx

  9. I hate it when everyone loves a product and I buy it and….also love it. I never believe the hype but this concealer really works for me, and hate how its always sold out! Its crazy how it can be so different on each person. One I don’t get is the Yves Saint Laurent Touche Eclat: expensive and such a let down.

  10. I dont like the collection concealer either. I was so shocked when i got it and thought it wasnt very good after everyone raved about it. I was gonna try this one too but now i dont think I’ll bother!xxx

    sophiedibble.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

