The Autumn Beauty Edit for Neutral Lovers

autumn edit 3

autumn edit 7

I’m ready for my wardrobe and makeup stash to overflow with khaki shades, amber hues, berry tones and more knitted slipper socks than I’ll ever need in my entire lifetime. I’ve got a whole host of beautiful products and suggestions to share with you in this edit and yes, the green pigment that’s sticking out like a sore thumb will be addressed shortly!

I’ll never retire my glow-getter, bronzing products, but I do like to have a teeny bit more coverage in my bases for Autumn because I think it pairs well with slightly heavier eye and lip looks. Chanel’s vitalumiereΒ aqua can have really great coverage depending on what you use to apply it with and it just looks beautiful on the skin so although it won’t be a foundation for every day (my bank account can’t even deal), it will be one that I’ll be using very often…eek. I naturally always go for blue-based pinks in Β the blush department but for this time of year, I’d suggest going with something a little more neutral to avoid everything looking a bit clown-like and two I’d highly, highly recommend are Clinique’s cheek pop in rosy pop and Max Factor’s blush in ‘alluring rose’.

Now, on to addressing the green pigment. Have I really included a green pigment in an edit for neutral lovers? Yes. I couldn’t be more netural loving if I tried and I looove MAC’s pigment in ‘golden olive’. It doesn’t translate as a bright, garish green on the lids and instead provides a beautiful olive come golden, khaki sheen. I’d urge anyone to just try this next time you’re near a MAC counter – it’s one of my favourite products in my collection. For a more bronze/chocolate-y option, Max Factor’s excess shimmer shadow in ‘bronze’ is one of the best cream shadow formulas out there, with or without taking in to consideration the price point. Extremely warm, blends like a dream, creamy and rich in pigment…what’s not to love? The palette and lipstick in this edit come from Clarins and I did an in-depth post on their 2015 Autumn collection here if you’d like to see swatches and a review of them!

Rather than just taking a pretty flat lay of all the products, I thought I’d include a picture of me wearing a few of them for reference and just because I think it’s a bit more interesting that way! In the photo, I’m wearing the Chanel foundation, the Clinique blush, the Clarins lipstick and a mixture of the Max Factor cream shadow and the MAC pigment. I buffed a light layer of the cream shadow all over my lid and pressed a small amount of pigment on to the inner corners and centre of the lid.

What do you think of these products, the MAC pigment and the look? Have you tried any of them? Jess x

29 thoughts on “The Autumn Beauty Edit for Neutral Lovers

Leave a Reply

