What I Ate This Week For Lunch

what i eat 7

what i eat 9

I love having a good snoop at these ‘what I ate’ style posts and videos, although I find most of them encompass a vegan lifestyle and although my fridge is always full to the brim with an OTT array of vegetables, veganism is in all honesty, not something I ever think I’ll be interested in. That being said, a couple of these dishes cater towards vegan and vegetarian diets so hopefully whatever your preference, there will be something that tickles your fancy in this post.

A salad in a jar – Now, you may be sat there thinking ‘a jar? unnecessary and poncy’ but hear me out on this one. Unlike the soggy, limp looking concoction you’ll find when you pull out the salad you made the night before if you were to leave it all mingling in a bowl overnight, stacking your salad in a jar, I promise, will answer your salad woes. Ingredients with the most moisture begin the stack (dressing) and the stack ends with salad leaves or anything likely to lose its texture or crispness. My salad jar here consists of caesarย dressing, avocado, shredded chicken, spinach and tomato.

Dark chocolate & raspberry brownies – I’d just finished my exams and assignments for the semester so deliciously fattening brownies were the only thing on the menu. I just used a basic brownie recipe and topped the mixture with raspberries in the last 4-5 minutes of cooking for added tartness and to cut through the richness.

Spicy potato wedges with roasted tomatoes & avocado – For something so simple, this is a really delicious little dish. I just slice a baking potato in toย chunky slices, par boil them for around 5 minutes, drain them, place them on to a baking tray along with a few tomatoes and onion slices, drizzle with olive oil and scatter with spicy seasoning and then throw them in the oven for around 20 minutes.

Pomegranate & avocado salad with boiled eggs – Avocado seems to be the running theme throughout this post but it’s my fave. I took this photo a while back but I thought I’d use it here as I made this for a light lunch this week!

Spiced chickpea and feta cabbage parcels – My mum made these for dinner a few weeks ago and I loved them so much that I decided to try them out for myself. As a family who never follow recipes, I didn’t really have anything to go by but they turned out almost as good as hers!

Pancetta & leek tart – There’s no denying it; I love a good pie. Technically, this is a tart as it has no lid but it was delicious all the same.

Pan fried fish with a Thai carrot & cucumber salad – Again, this picture was taken a while back but I made the same recipe this week but substituted the sea bass with mackerel because…I’m a student, HA.

Ratatouille & cauliflower ‘rice’ – Although I initially intended to make cauliflower mash, this actually turned out to be a lot lighter than I’d anticipated and I’ll be making it again!

Did you eat anything interesting this week? Jess x

4 thoughts on “What I Ate This Week For Lunch

Leave a Reply

