My Winter Reading List

reading list 4

I’m not really one for drawing out an overwhelmingly extensive list of resolutions for the upcoming year but for 2016, there are a couple of mini goals I’ve set myself; one of which is to add at least 1 Wordsworth classic novels to my collection each month. Call me over-confident, but I think I’ve hit the ground running with this as I’ve already added a couple to my already over flowing bookshelf. One of which, being Moby Dick which I recall skimming over when I was younger but now that I’m at the ripe old age of 20 and after recently learning of the truly horrific real story that inspired it, I was really keen to pick up the famous whale harpooning tale again.

Anything that’s reminiscent of a rom-com, romantic or ditsy storyline
about a woman looking for love (aside from Bridget Jones, of course), I’m just not interested. I prefer psychological thrillers, books that have some truth behind them or stories that sit somewhere within the horror genre. So with that in mind, I really want to start reading Stephen King’s ‘The Bazaar of Bad Dreams’ which is a collection of short thrillers that seems to have nothing but great reviews.

Morbid though it may seem, my dissertation encompasses capital punishment in the US and issues surrounding unconstitutionality as it’s a topic I’m really enthusiastic about. A secondhand copy (waste not, want not) of Bernard Cornwell’s ‘Gallows Thief’ is currently on its way to me which initially captured my attention as the story comprises two topics that I’m fascinated in; the Regency period and the culture of privilege.

The Wind in The Willows evokes really happy memories for me and was one of my favourite books and films from my childhood. I’d like to treat myself to a beautiful front cover edition of it or something along those lines, just to have on display and of course to read!

Have you read anything really great recently? Jess x

6 thoughts on “My Winter Reading List

  1. Love the goal of adding/reading more books! One of my favorite classics is The Picture of Dorian Gray. I finished it and wanted to read it all over again.

Leave a Reply

