My MAC ‘Nude’ Lipstick Edit

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve strategically put nude in inverted commas, by virtue of the fact that a couple of these shades don’t strictly fit into the nude spectrum but I still see them as such! I’m not a real MAC go-er but with such an overwhelmingly wide array of shades available, I thought it would be nice to do an edit, so as to keep things simple and paired down.

Although I love all of the shades featured,’jubilee’ is unsurpassed as a brown-based nude. While most of its browny-nude counterparts are matte, jubilee’s lustre finish imparts a beigy-pink sheen to the lips and pairs nicely with almost any makeup look.

Interestingly, while loved by many, the finished look of ‘velvet teddy’ is really dependent upon your skin tone. On myself, it is quite dark with an almost terracotta hue, but on my sister’s lips (who is a lot less fairer than I), it is a lot more pink-ish.

By way of the yellow-based pink undertones, ‘fanfare’ is a really brightening shade and the cremesheen finish makes for a really comfortable every day kinda lipstick.

If your preferences lie with milky bubblegum-pink shades, ‘please me’ is a really beautiful muted rosy-pink. It is however, matte, and so if you’re looking for something a little more moisturising, lovelorn’s cool, blue-based pink hue and lustre finish might just be the ticket.

Have you tried any of these? Do you have a favourite nude lip product from MAC? Jess x

23 thoughts on “My MAC ‘Nude’ Lipstick Edit

  1. Nothing makes me happier than a nude Mac lipstick, so I’m having some intense envy right now! Vevet Teddy is one of my faves (though I agree it looks so different depending on skin tone – it’s very brown on me!)

    Claire | Vanity Claire xx

  2. Really liking this roundup of lipsticks shades! I’m doing a giant clear out and consolidating my makeup collection and am gonna do a back-to-MAC roundup soon. I’m already searching for the next lip color to trade in for but I’m sure it’ll be between Velvet Teddy and Mehr. Will need to try out Velvet Teddy in person as I do notice it tends to vary on every person – but always in such a nice way! And if it’s a terracotta color on me I’m all for it.

    Cindy | http://www.cindyhyue.com

  3. Fanfare was my first ever lipstick from Mac and it’s nearly running out *sobs* but one that I will forever repurchase because like you said, it’s that perfect everyday pink! I tried out velvet teddy in a House of Fraser store and absolutely hated it on me, but then tried it on in duty free where the lighting was much better, and agreed it can totally look different both on shades of skin and in lighting! xx

    http://www.iridescentplaces.com

  4. “Please Me” looks sooo lovely! I might have to swatch it next time I’m in a MAC Store 🙂
    Also amazing how you could hold all 5 lipsticks in one hand! Haha 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

