My June Makeup Medley

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now that summer is well and truly upon us (well, almost), I feel that a seasonal run-down of additions to my everyday makeup bag is in order! If you’ve been around these parts for any amount of time, you’ll know that I’m partial to foundations with a skin-like, dewy finish; in fact, I rarely stray from a light to medium coverage, and so L’Oreal’s new nude magiqueΒ cushion foundation is a very welcome addition to my summer beauty line-up. Aside from my gripe with the pricing to product ratio, I really love this foundation for its SPF of 25, its glow-inducing properties and lightweight feel. However, a word of advice – if you’re opposed to foundations that don’t set and are tacky to the touch, I’d give this one a miss. If you fancy reading my full and rather in-depth review of this foundation, click here.

I always seem to favour cream blush formulas over powders and after falling head over heels for the Bourjois ‘peach on the beach’ lip crayon, I’ve been using it as a sort of glossy cheek stain come cream blush. Although I do love the vibrancy of it, the colour pigment definitely warrants a light touch in the interests of avoiding looking like a bashful cartoon character.

I can never seem to stray from a warm-toned shadow no matter the season and so for a quick wash of shimmery bronze over my lids, I dust over a liberal dose of MAC’s woodwinkedΒ which I’ve loved for many years now. Similarly, I tend to prefer warm bronzers in spite of my fair complexion and instead of reaching for my beloved Chanel cream bronzer, I’ve been switching it up by using Urban Decay’s new beached bronzer, which, aside from the beautiful packaging, is actually a really great powder bronzer that works well without the need for applying a setting powder beforehand.

And because we’re all after that golden-goddess esque glow, I’ve been enjoying (if going a little overboard with) my Laura Geller highlighter in gilded honey. Doesn’t it just look like a pan of swirled molten golden treacle? Although it’s a powder formulation, it doesn’t seem to sit on top of the skin in an obvious or OTT way; instead, it looks like an iridescent, golden, finely-milled shimmer that catches the light beautifully.

Have you tried any of these products? What have you been loving recently for a summery makeup look? Jess x

36 thoughts on “My June Makeup Medley

  1. I really want to give the Laura Geller Highlighter ago! It looks so beautiful! I agree with you on woodwinked though! such an easy colour to wear in the summer! I love Soft & Gentle as a highlighter too its very shimmery and summery! xx

      1. Cream blushers are my fave makeup products ever! The Stila convertible colours are the best in my opinion – my favourite one (sweet pea) is actually in the sale on their site for Β£8!!! πŸ™‚ xx

  2. This makeup look is so lovely! I’ve been wanting to try out the cushion foundation, but I always seem to have trouble with drugstore foundations. They’re never the right shade and the right consistency in the same product.

    Elanor

    elanorsims.wordpress.com

      1. They’re either too cakey or too shiny. Hopefully I’ll find the perfect one soon! X

      2. Ooh I see, I think L’Oreal’s newly formulated true match would be good! (The old formula was really cakey in my opinion), but the new formula is quite thin but sets and has a good amount of coverage πŸ™‚ have a review up on my blog sonewhere of it it! If you’re interested, just type L’Oreal in to the search bar and it should come up πŸ™‚ x

Leave a Reply

