21 Things I’ve Learned in 21 Years

flowers 21 things 4

I’ll really try and refrain from letting things get too existential and philosophical. Enjoy!

  1. Education goes far beyond the classroom or lecture theatre.
  2. Educating one’s self is of the utmost importance.
  3. The accumulation of lots of ‘stuff’ and materialistic paraphernalia can do more harm than good.
  4. Cooking and food-related knowledge is incredibly important to me.
  5. You can never do enough reading.
  6. There’s only so much you can do for people.
  7. It’s OK not to follow trends A.K.A. It’s OK to think that the Kardashians and ‘Instagram’ makeup are……..not good.
  8. An Instagram account is often not an accurate portrayal of someone’s life or surroundings; including my own.
  9. Life is non-linear; life cannot be set out in a planned, methodical way.
  10. I love studying psychology, psychological concepts and the complexity of our minds.
  11. I’m very passionately opposed against the implementation of capital punishment.
  12. I despise the preoccupation with political correctness within my generation.
  13. As wonderful as the raw intentions of feminism are, I don’t agree with all approaches taken and ideologies shared within radical feminism.
  14. I need to work on my reluctancy to candy-coat things and bluntness; which often leads to me being misunderstood.
  15. A bag of 24 frozen chicken dippers for dinner in 1st year at University, on the regular, is not a good idea.
  16. I’m absolutely terrible at remembering people’s birthdays. Oops.
  17. Being an introverted individual doesn’t make you weird.
  18. I love to write and wish to improve upon my writing skills as much as possible throughout adulthood.
  19. Just because it seems as though everyone is doing/saying something, it doesn’t mean it’s the best way/OK.
  20.  I’m prone to depression and that’s OK.
  21. Having the belief that everything will work out is important for moving forward in life.

 

Jess x

13 thoughts on “21 Things I’ve Learned in 21 Years

  1. I loved reading this Jess! Number 17 and 19 have become so important to me, especially leaving university and realising that I didn’t fit into the stereotype of a young student, I often felt like I was strange for that, but now I’m glad!

    Jodie | jodiemelissa.com

Leave a Reply

