An L.A. Beauty Haul

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s now been one sad, melancholy week since I hopped on a plane at LAX, flew across the pond and arrived back at home. So, because I foresaw that I’d be wallowing in self-pity after having left L.A., I did a smidgen of beauty shopping in the likes of Target, Bath & Body Works and Sephora to cheer me up upon my arrival!

Although I perused the Autumnal section of Bath and Body Works for far too long whilst shopping in South Coast Plaza and loved nearly all that it had to offer, I thought that the scent of a pumpkin or marshmallow scented candle lingering in my bedroom 24/7 would get a bit OTT and sickly. So, I went for something a bit lighter and fresher with this delicious pomegranate lemonade candle. GOOD LORD. This smells heavenly; it’s still quite sweet but the citrus notes cut through said sweetness just nicely and I can’t wait to start burning it!

I initially only intended on purchasing the Hourglass ambient strobe powder in euphoric strobe light whilst in Sephora but alas, the miniatures along the checkout aisle spoke to me and I just had to pick up this adorable melted liquified liquid lipstick in melted fuschia.

Although I so desperately wanted to go wild in Target’s beauty aisles, I thought about my already overflowing makeup collection back at home and kept things acceptable by picking up just four things. The ELF stipple brush has seriously impressed me; at just $3, this is, by far (I think), leagues above my Real Technique’s stippling brush and it’s so unbelievably affordable. It’s also a lot smaller than most of its kind and so it’s great for just about every cream product, including concealer.

The cult classic ‘walking on eggshells’ palette by Wet ‘N’ Wild also made it into my shopping basket and although I think it’s worth every penny at under $3, it’s not as amazing as I thought it would be. It’s nice, wearable and not overly powdery, but I was expecting the pigment to be a little stronger.

The Wet ‘N’ Wild single glitter shadow in ‘brass’, however, is all kinds of awesome. Admittedly, the consistency is a little…weird – it has a sort of vaseline-esque base with a glitter overlay. However, I love it for just tapping over the centre of the lids and it really gives that wet look on the lids which, as a lover of editorial makeup, I really love.

Lastly, I picked up the Milani baked blush in corallina. I already have the now famed luminoso, and although it’s a nice enough blush, it translates as a little orange on me. I do, however, love the formulation of it and so I thought I’d give another shade a go, hence the purchase of corallina!

Have you tried any of these products? I’ll try and get a review up of each product soon so do keep your eyes peeled if you’re interested in any of them! Jess x

 

10 thoughts on “An L.A. Beauty Haul

  1. I have one of the Melted Metal lipsticks (peony) and really love it, so I’ll be interested to see what you think of yours. Also the Hourglass powder – I have one of the blushes and it still makes me swoon every time I look at it! x

    Kate Louise Blogs

Leave a Reply

