An Affordable Beauty Haul & First Impressions

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve failed yet again in my attempts at being a little more frugal with my beauty spending habits, which, if we’re honest, is no surprise to anyone. Nonetheless, all of these purchases were affordable ones and so I don’t feel quite as disappointed in myself!

2016 seems to be the year in which Asian beauty concepts have taken over the beauty market in the Western World; one of which being sheet masks. I’ve found most sheet masks to sit within the higher end price range and so when I saw that Garnier had released this Β£1.50 moisture bomb tissue mask, I couldn’t resist picking one up.

Whilst we’re on the subject of skincare, I have been waiting for what feels like an eternity Β for this next product to come back in stock. Skincare fanatics have seemingly gone mad for The Ordinary’s brand new line and the extensive scientific research and astoundingly low price points behind its products. Due to ‘out of stocks’ here, there and everywhere, I was unfortunately only able to get my hands on one of the products from the line; nonetheless, I’m still way too excited over my newly acquired Hyaluronic acid 2% + B5 serum! I’m usually dubious when it comes to hyaluronic acid based products because hyaluronic acid is actually too large as molecule to penetrate the skin, which means that most hyaluronic acid based products simply temporarily attract moisture to the surface of the skin and therefore only promotes short term benefits. This product however, is formulated with three forms of hyaluronic acid with varying molecular weights and so can actually penetrate the skin and promote long term benefits. Very, very excited about this purchase, can you tell!?

And because everyone and their dog was and still seems to be raving about the Sleek highlighting palettes, I picked up one in ‘precious metals’. I also added the Bourjois Β aqua blush in ‘inge-nude’ and Revlon’s matte balm in ‘enchanting’ up because I just can’t resist those peachy-pink hues.

If you’d like to see/watch my first impressions of the makeup products mentioned above, please feel free to watch them here! Jess x

2 thoughts on “An Affordable Beauty Haul & First Impressions

  1. I’ve just bought that face mask too so i’m intrigued to find out what you think. Might use mine tonight. I also have that Bourjois blush but in a slightly different shade, although I like it I find the concept a bit weird and I don’t reach for it over my powder blushes. Let me know how you get on! xx

Leave a Reply

