My November Book Haul & Reading List

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There’s nothing I love more than ferreting around in my book collection or perusing the book section on Amazon in search of a good few reads, and so I wanted to make these book hauls a monthly (or thereabouts) series. And although psychological thrillers and slightly macabre books are my favourite books to read, I am going to really try and broaden my horizons and pick up books that don’t sit within that genre!

The synopsis of ‘The Magpies’ by Mark Edwards has me entirely hooked, line and sinker because it promises suspense, and a couple of very odd and disturbing characters. This is ‘a book in which the monsters are not vampires or demons but the people who live next door. It is a nightmare that could happen to anyone’.

One of my resolutions this year was to read as many Wordsworth classic books as I could throughout 2016 and so the latest addition to my Wordsworth collection is Uncle Tom’s Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe. I’m really interested in reading this not only because it’s a piece of literature that served as a catalyst for the abolitionist and anti-black slavery movements and its obvious historical significance, but because I also just really like the sound of Tom himself, whom the book is based upon!

I’ve actually just finished readingย Behind Closed Doors by B A Paris and absolutely loved it. I know it sounds so cliche, but you really will not be able to put this book down if you get it and begin reading it for yourself! Without saying too much about the plot and risking giving too much away, I’ll just say that this is a story about a marriage that isn’t all that it seems. So gripping, trilling and an easy read that anyone could read.

The Good Girl by Mary Kubica has a plot that sounded immensely appealing to me as a psychological thriller fan. A girl who is kidnapped by an enigmatic stranger she meets at a bar? I’m already 95% sure I’m going to enjoy this book!

And finally, I picked up The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters. This is a story that’s set in 1920’s London and is based upon the transitional social world of post-war Britain. From what I understand, this book is based upon the life of a very well-to-do woman who is very much driven by financial and social status who is forced to let the bedrooms in her house out to lodgers post-war, and how she deals with this and the subsequent loss of her ‘upper’ status.

So, have you read any of these books or do any of them take your fancy? I’m looking forward to reading all of them (particularly the thrillers, of course!) Jess x

One thought on “My November Book Haul & Reading List

Leave a Reply

