The 5 Best Brands for Makeup Brushes

flatlay-2

This is, of course, all down to personal preference, but the things I look for in a makeup brush are softness, good durability and a durable ferrule, bristles/a head that holds its shape well, and ease of maintenance; and by that, I mean a brush that won’t resist the old brush cleanser and will scrub up well with ease. And because I feel like I’m well-versed in the beauty brush department; what with my collection featuring brushes from so many different brands, I thought I’d set myself the challenge of condensing it down to just the five brands that I would recommend to just about any and every beauty lover. There are, of course, many brushes that reside within my collection that I adore and couldn’t be without, such as Louise Young’s LY34 and my Real Technique’s buffing brush but as I only one one brush from the aforementioned Louise Young line and I don’t love Real Technique’s range enough to include it in a ‘top 5’, I decided not to include them and so they will simply remain as honourable mentions in this post! 

There are, of course, many brushes that reside within my collection that I adore and couldn’t be without, such as Louise Young’s LY34 and my Real Technique’s buffing brush but as I only one one brush from the aforementioned Louise Young line and I don’t love Real Technique’s range enough to include it in a ‘top 5’, I decided not to include them and so they will simply remain as honourable mentions in this post!

Sigma – I can say, without any doubt in my mind, that Sigma is my favourite brand for makeup brushes. And while Zoeva sits very comfortably in 2nd place, I really do think that the sheer softness of Sigma’s brushes are unrivalled. I particularly love the F05 contour brush (which I use for blush, bronzer and all powder products), the F03 highlighter brush and the E39 buff & blend brush, which, in my humble opinion, is the best blending brush on the market.

Look Good Feel Better – Aside from the fact that this charitable brand works to support those living with cancer, this is worthy of a place within this post as their brushes are of great quality. Their appearance is undoubtedly reminiscent of Sephora’s airbrush collection and I really love the angled foundation brush, which I use for cream blush, and the duo-fibre foundation brush.

Bobbi Brown – For me, a lot of Bobbi Brown brushes are comparable to Hakuhoddo brushes, simply for the fact that they are so incredibly soft and flexible, whilst still holding their shape for years.

Zoeva – We all knew this one was coming, right? The much-loved, and deservedly so, range of brushes from Zoeva were and arguably still are a revolution within the makeup world because they sit within an affordable price range and offer the quality that we’d expect from makeup brushes thrice the price! Everything about their range of brushes seems to be so well thought out and is one that features every type of brush you could ever want for.

Japonesque – If I had to encapsulate Japonesque brushes in one word, that word would be – quality. I know I just likened Bobbi Brown brushes to Hakuhoddo’s offerings but really, Japonesque is really the closest, I feel, to Hakuhoddo and Chikuhodo brushes but at a more (not drastically) affordable price point.

What is your favourite makeup brush brand or your favourite makeup brush that you just couldn’t do without? Let me know! Jess x

Leave a Reply

