My Winter Evening Skincare Line Up

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Although I am partial to a bit of good, effective skincare, I don’t tend to discuss it all that much on my blog as I truly believe that the skincare industry is one that uses ‘scientific’ jargon to fool customers into purchasing their often overpriced products that, put quite simply, no-one really needs. And because I’m lucky in that I seemingly carry the ‘good skin genes’, I don’t feel the need to overload my skin with product and so keep my skincare routine very minimal to simply maintain my skin. For reference, I have normal skin that is prone to dehydration but is not blemish prone and I like to focus on exfoliation and intense hydration within my skincare Β regime!

Personally, I don’t find Liz Earle’s hot cloth cleanse & polish to be all that amazing at removing makeup, particularly heavy-duty makeup, but as I wear very, very minimal makeup on a daily basis, this does the job for me. I always cleanse with either a balm, oil or cream cleanser, so as to maintain moisture and not strip my skin of its oils as micellar waters and gel cleansers tend to do. I adore this limited edition rose & cedrat scent and I find this to do a beautiful job of cleansing my skin.

It’s a rarity that I’ll use any sort of physical exfoliator, but I do use an acid exfoliator every day. It’s important to note that although I use this in the evenings, the skin will still be very much photo-sensitive the following morning and so it’s essential to apply SPF liberally! My favourite acid/liquid exfoliator is Pixi’s glow tonic because it’s glycolic acid based, which I find to work wonders for my skin; more so than lactic acids. I actually have a video all about this product, how it works and a rather in-depth review of it on my YouTube channel, so if you’d like to know more, feel free to watch said video!

I find that applying a serum or treatment before my oil or moisturiser of choice to work best for my skin, and I’m currently loving Roger & Gallet’s aura mirabilis double extract serum. And although this is marketed as a serum, Β I just love the almost bi-phase, essence-oil hybrid nature of this product to be refreshingly lightweight compared to a lot of other, more traditional serums.

Lastly, and most definitely a step I couldn’t be without in my skincare routine, is my Trilogy CoQ10 booster oil. It offers an intense boost of hydration and has completely remedied the dry patches that I used to find on the apples of my cheeks. The ingredients within this product are absolutely fantastic and I would highly recommend this to anyone.

Have you tried any of these products? What skincare products are you currently loving now that it’s colder? Jess x

2 thoughts on “My Winter Evening Skincare Line Up

  1. I love skincare posts but I totally agree with you, its so annoying that brands seem to brainwash everyone with scientific words!! La Roche-Posay Serozinc is my holy grail product xx

    Phoebe & Abida | phoebida.blogspot.co.uk

Leave a Reply

