A Look Back At My 2016 | My Travels, Life After Graduation & Blogging Achievements

2016-sum-up

This was definitely a year in which I learned so much; both from my travels and the people who I’ve worked alongside. I’ve always had a preoccupation with self-doubt and although I do still think that nothing I ever do will be good enough in my own mind, I’ve come to realise over the past sort of 6 months that I’m a lot more capable than I first thought I was. In an attempt to write up all of the things that I want to to talk about in a cohesive manner, I’ve separated this reflection-style post up into 3 categories:graduation & work, my travels and blogging achievements. Hope you enjoy! Jess x

Graduation & work – I think that graduates face a lot of adversity to some extent after having finished University, particularly if there is no job in the pipeline, because we just don’t know what to do with ourselves and as someone prone to depression regardless of these kinds of situations, I found myself in a really dark place after I’d finished with my studies. But, when faced with adversity, the best thing to do is to focus your energy into something positive, and so I applied for a job that I really took a shine to, without any kind of expectation and although I went into the interview for said job with a very pessimistic mind-set – I got the job. I’m a mental health support worker and I really and truly do enjoy my job, so if you’re nearing the end of University with no idea as to what your life after graduation will entail, just know that if you remain pro-active and adopt a ‘can do’ attitude – you’ll be just dandy.

My Travels – The summer of 2016 was the summer in which I travelled to Los Angeles, Rome and New York. All very different; all magical in their own way. Los Angeles is, for me, somewhere that I would go back to within a heartbeat; I truly loved everything about it. Firstly, I love flying, and so the 11 and a half hour flight pleased me immensely (many films were watched and many mini Kinder Bueno bites were eaten), and everything I did within the week that I was there was just so fab. To whale watch was something that I’d longed to do for so many years and I finally did it in LA; and the pod of dolphins that swam alongside the boat whilst we were whale watching made it all the more magical! I also visited Newport Beach whilst in LA, which is a beach unlike any other, and I also loved seeing the Disneyworld night parade and fireworks – both of which were as good as they sound!

Whilst in New York, I visited the 9/11 museum; which I can do no justice to if I were to try and describe it, but the feeling I felt when in the memorial portrait gallery room is something I’ll never forget. I also loved the Rockerfeller observation deck because, despite my fear of heights, the view really was something to marvel at. I’d always imagined NY to be a towering city, but everything really is unimaginably mammoth in size; the skyscrapers were a lot bigger than I’d ever imagined them to be! Taking the ferry out to see the Statue of Liberty was, of course, essential and was followed by a Red Lobster seafood extravaganza.

In every possible sense of the word, I adored Rome. I couldn’t quite fathom how the Colosseum has stood and been on earth for the extraordinary amount of time it has, and all of the landmarks I saw and visited were all just so majestic and incredibly beautiful. As cliche as it may sound, the architecture was mesmerisingly spectacular.And, as a self-professed foodie, I loved having the opportunity to taste authentic Italian cuisine, and the quality of ingredients and the food itself was as good as everyone makes it out to be!

Blogging achievements – This year, I’ve had the opportunity to work with such amazing PR companies and brands such as Clarins, L’Oreal and some lovely, niche brand; which is always something I’m grateful for. Aside from the many wonderful things I’ve been kindly sent this year, my blog has also allowed me to work as a freelance beauty writer and PR and social media assistant for The London School of Media Makeup, Candy Coat and Agasaya Beauty. Although very stressful at times, I absolutely love freelancing, and although I don’t have the time to take on more than one freelancing project at a time any more, I’m enjoying what I’m doing and will continue to do so for as long as my schedule allows me to!

What are you most proud of this year, or what are your highlights of your year so far? Jess x

 

Leave a Reply

