Sixteen Things In 2016

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

By virtue of the fact that my New Year’s resolutions tend to go down like a lead balloon and are left unachieved when the new year comes around, I thought I’d refrain from writing a typical resolutions post, and instead, reflect on 16 things throughout 2016 that are worthy of note.

I travelled to Los Angeles – In lieu of harping on about my travels, I’ll leave you with links to both my L.A. Photo Diary blog post, and my L.A. Travel Diary video. 

Whilst in LA, I fulfilled a lifetime ambition of mine – whale watching!

I read 48 books. I particularly loved The Collector by John Fowles, Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov, The Magpies by Mark Edwards and Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris; all of which are psychological thrillers, which are, unashamedly, my favourite books to read.

My blog has allowed me to work as a freelance beauty content creator for The London School of Media Makeup, Candy Coat and, in my current position as Agasaya Beauty’s Instagram manager and content creator.

I graduated from University.

Since graduating, I now work as a mental health support worker.

I can say, without hesitation, that I’m extremely proud of my dissertation.

I moved back home; which is a strange feeling after having lived with my boyfriend for the past three years.

I travelled to New York. And although I only spent a short time there, the towering, scarily gigantic skyscrapers and my visit to the 9/11 museum are memories that will never leave me.

I also visited Rome this year, and would visit again in a heartbeat, if offered the chance.

I started my YouTube Channel.

I developed an unhealthy obsession with green juice, candles, cleansing balms and loungewear.

I’m still learning to live with my recurrent brief depression.

I had the opportunity to discover a plethora of authentic dishes from many different cuisines; I tried an authentic Caribean goat curry, Italian cuisine from the heart of Rome itself, Peruvian curry and American seafood (and authentic USA buffalo wings, of course!)

I invested in the Olympus E-PL7 camera.

And lastly, I still love blogging and am so grateful that you’re still around to listen to my musings on all things beauty and lifestyle related!

Hope you have a fab New Year’s Eve and are excited for the year ahead! Jess x

 

6 thoughts on “Sixteen Things In 2016

  1. Sounds like you’ve had a fab year! One of my aims (not resolutions, haha!) for next year is to read more so I’m definitely noting down some of our recommendations 🙂

    Claire | Vanity Claire xx

Leave a Reply

