The New Clarins Skin Illusion Blush Review & Swatches

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

*These were kindly gifted to me as PR samples by Clarins

If I were to narrow my overflowing makeup collection in to just three categories, said categories would be brows, tinted moisturiser and blush. I just find it to lift, liven and brighten the complexion like no other makeup product can do and so, as you can imagine, I was very excited when the postman delivered these goodies to my front door. Upon first impression, I loved the Korean-esque cutesy packaging adorned with love hearts, and, much like the packaging, the product itself is reminiscent of the Korean cheek stamp style blush pots and cushion blushers. Also worthy of note here, is that the packaging is eco-developed and is sourced from sustainable forests, which is great.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Shades from left to right with my attempt at a description of the colours(!): Golden Havana (rosewood type shade with flecks of shimmer running throughout), Luminous Coral  (warm peachy coral) and Luminous Pink (cool-toned petal pink).

When I first swatched these, I was shocked at the formula because I was expecting a cream blush formulation, but they are actually powder blushers. They are incredibly smooth and silky, and I think that the swatches above show just how smooth they are. For the most part, the blogger reviews of these that I’ve read have been positive, but a few have been critical of the strength of the pigment. They are quite sheer, but I actually really like that; particularly in a powder blush formulation.I find a slightly sheerer formula to be easier to work with, more flattering and less intimidating so, if you prefer a subtle flush of colour on your cheeks like me, I think you’d really enjoy the pigmentation. 

In terms of application, the cheek stamp style powder puff applicators within the compacts actually work quite well, which I was surprised at as I was expecting to look like a porcelain clown doll with rosy circles after application! But because the puff applicator applies a light layer of the product rather than an intense hit of pigment, it adds just a nice amount of pop on to your cheeks and I don’t feel the need to blend the edges with a separate brush or my fingers; which makes me think that these would be good for travel, commuting and things like that.

I really love these cute little blush pots and at £16, I think that they are reasonably priced for a high end brand such as Clarins. They will be available from March 2017 and I think they would be a lovely addition to anyone’s makeup bag for spring, or a mother’s makeup bag for Mother’s Day! Jess x

3 thoughts on “The New Clarins Skin Illusion Blush Review & Swatches

Leave a Reply

