My Blogger Mail & New-In Beauty

img_20170227_113504_470

My Postman has been the deliverer, and I the recipient of many exciting parcels and packages over the past couple of weeks, and so I thought I’d share with you a few of the products and new releases that various PR companies and brands have very kindly sent over for me to try as of late!

I’ve already written a blog post on the Clarins Skin Illusion Blush Pots here (£16 & avail), but I really do love these! I love the almost Korean-esque style cutesy packaging that they’re housed in, and, much like Korean blush pots, the applicator is very much inspired by the cheek-stamp and cushion blush trend that is everywhere within the Asian makeup market. I was taken aback by the formula as I was expecting a cream or liquid formulation, but these are actually powder blushers formulated with mineral and plant extracts. I love the shade selection, and think that at a reasonable £16 each, these would make a really lovely addition to anyone’s Spring makeup bag!

As a glycolic acid fiend, I was so excited when the new Vichy Idealia Peeling liquid (£30 but currently £25.50 on Escentual)came in the post! At 4%, the concentration of glycolic acid is a little stronger than my beloved glow tonic (5%), and after having used this consistently every evening for the past 10 days or so, my skin is noticeably brighter and doesn’t look as lacklustre as it did before having introduced it in to my well-established skincare routine – and the dry patches on the apples of my cheeks are no more! Love. This. Stuff.

When I think of makeup brushes, I think of Zoeva, Sigma, Bobbi Brown, Real Techniques and Nanshy, and so I was really excited to try a few of the brushes from their range. These brushes are incredibly soft; more so than my Zoeva and Sigma ones. I’m honestly so impressed with just how soft they are, but I was a little dubious as to whether they would clean well and soak up a lot of product for that reason. I have washed them all and they wash well and don’t soak up too much product, and so I’m having a hard time finding fault with them! I’m working on a blog post, which will be up hopefully within the next week or so!

Vincent Longo Cosmetics is a brand I’ve only recently been introduced to, but I’ve loved a lot of the products I’ve tried from them thus far. I particularly love the Flora highlighter; which I did have doubts about initially as talc is listed as the first ingredient, but actually, the powder itself is so fine and soft. It’s a beautifully subtle highlight that is neither shimmery nor glittery, and so I think that it would work well for people who love a natural makeup look or who have textural issues that are often exacerbated when they use a shimmery highlighter. I also adore the creme gel liner in Flamenco; it’s the longest lasting cream eyeshadow formula I have ever used and there’s only slight creasing on me (I have hooded eyes and so to find a cream shadow that doesn’t crease whatsoever is a huge and near on impossible ask!) I’m working on a blog post talking through my favourite products from the Vincent Longo Cosmetics line so hopefully that will be up soon!

And lastly, we have Living Nature’s Illuminating Foundation (£30). Natural, green and non-toxic foundations are fabulous for obvious reasons, but are often snubbed and subject to poor reviews because natural foundations are often harder to formulate and work with in some cases. I’ve been testing this for a couple of weeks now, and am actually quite liking it; and although it isn’t as easy to work with as a foundation with silicones and ingredients that ease application, I do like the finish and enjoy the fact that I know my skin isn’t absorbing toxic ingredients throughout the day.

Have you tried any of these products or have any of them caught your eye? Jess x

 

Leave a Reply

