How I Spring Cleaned My Makeup & Skincare Collection

oi000055-1-1

Sadly, the lotions and potions residing in our makeup and skincare stashes don’t last forever, and so, I decided this weekend that now was the time to adopt the ‘out with the old, in with the new’ pearl of wisdom and give my beauty collection a good and thorough spring clean!

As serums containing actives and potent moisturisers tend to lessen in effectiveness after a year or so, I like to go through my skincare stash around twice a year to see which products need replacing and/or throwing out. It’s also so important to keep an eye on your SPF’s; which again, lose their effectiveness and don’t give as much protection as the label says after about a year. And because my skin tends to be a little dehydrated, I swap my heavier, more emollient moisturisers I’ve been using throughout the colder months for lighter formulas (although I don’t think I could ever be without my Roger & Gallet legendary cream!)

Although I tend to favour cream formulas over powders all year round, I do like to replace the muted rosy and mauve blush shades that I’ve been using throughout winter for corals, fuchsias and petal pinks! I also love to pull out my tinted moisturisers; particularly my Bare Minerals Complexion Rescue Tinted Hydrating Gel Cream, which looks so beautifully natural on the skin and is incredibly lightweight. I have an embarrassingly overflowing foundation collection, but I’ve rifled through it and discarded of any foundations that have separated or smell a bit funky because although makeup expiration dates can be helpful, I think your sense of smell, sight and instinct are good things to follow.

I also love using slightly shimmery cream shadows on the lids such as my By Terry Misty Rock stick shadow because the iridescence running throughout the shadow reflects the light beautifully and brightens the eyes. And because my poor, parched lips are still recovering from winter, I think that tinted lip balms and lip glosses are a great way of perking up the complexion whilst adding a bit of hydration.

And finally, in terms of tools and brushes, I like to replace my beauty blender, any facial cleansing brush heads and any worse for wear looking brushes at this time of year. Admittedly, I do tend to replace my beauty blender every 6 months because I hate the idea of a sponge that’s often moist, playing host to bacteria and germs that I’ll then later bop all over my face!

So, that’s how I spring cleaned my beauty stash this time around; have you done this yet or do you have any tips? Jess x

6 thoughts on “How I Spring Cleaned My Makeup & Skincare Collection

  1. Well done you! I should do this too, I’m such a make up hoarder! I am trying to lessen this though by opening a certain number of blushes, foundation etc. and keep the rest closed until the first batch is finished xx

  2. Cleaning my brushes every now and then is such a nice routine to have. I’m guilty as charged when it comes to lipstick, tho, too many of them! I like to layer them lately so I can get use out of two lipsticks at once, works well when one is sheery-glossy and the other matte.

Leave a Reply

