A Review Of Vichy’s Idéalia Peeling Glycolic Liquid

IMG_20170320_120849_251

*PR sample

If you’ve been around these parts for a while, you’ll know that I’ve long been besotted with French pharmacy skincare brands; particularly the likes of Vichy, La Roche-Posay, Nuxe and Bioderma! So, of course, I was very excited when I heard that Vichy were releasing a product featuring the skincare ingredient that makes my skincare heart sing – glycolic acid. Interestingly, this is Vichy’s first venture in to the liquid/acid exfoliator side of things, and they market this as a ‘night time radiance activating peeling care’. I am typically very pernickety with skincare and ingredients, but I must warn you, this is going to be a glowing (pardon the pun) review, as I really feel as though this is one of the best skincare products I’ve tried in a long, long time.

Prior to using this, I was a real Pixi glow tonic die-hard fan, but I haven’t reached for it at all since using this product! It’s quite rare to find a skincare product that gives you noticeable difference in your skin within only a week or two of using it, but this glycolic acid based exfoliant did exactly that for me. Although I really do have very good skin, I do have slight dryness/texture on the apples of my cheeks which, if I moisturise well, aren’t noticeable, but after having used this, that issue is no more and I no longer have any sort of texture there; which is something that other glycolic acid exfoliants haven’t achieved in the past. The concentration of glycolic acid within this exfoliant is 4%, which although a little stronger than the glow tonic, is still reasonably mild. The formula also contains hepes which also work to exfoliate; anti-oxidant rich blueberry polyphenols and kombucha tea extract which helps to restore the quality of the skin.

AirBrush_20170307130249-1

This is just a close up of my skin; to demonstrate that the visible dryness I had on my cheeks before using this product has now completely gone as you can see!

Aside from trivial and unimportant details like smelling of raspberries and being housed in a lovely red-tinted glass bottle, this liquid exfoliant ticks all the boxes for me; it’s hydrating, similar to a lightweight serum in consistency and brightens my skin like nothing else ever has. I can sometimes have quite dull looking skin but this manages to make me look as though I’ve miraculously managed to drink 2 litres of water, had low stress levels and have had 10 hours sleep after having sweeped it on to my skin on a cotton pad.

As with all of the skincare that I use and test, I do a once-over of the ingredients list and whilst alcohol denat is listed (which is something I’m usually hesitant over), this hasn’t dried out my skin and doesn’t leave it feeling tight or stripped at all. I wouldn’t, however, recommend using this every night because I do think that with skincare, anything containing alcohol is best used sporadically.

Yet again, Vichy are yet to disappoint me! Jess x

Leave a Reply

