What To Do When You’re In A Blogging Rut & Feeling Uninspired

IMG_20170422_125648_791-1-1

I think the majority of those of us within the blogosphere know the feeling of being uninspired, unmotivated and lacking in the creative department all to well and so to help remedy your blogging rut woes, I thought I’d put together a few of my tips for working your way through and out of it!

Make a mood board – rifle through Bloglovin’, Pinterest, Instagram and any magazines you may have lying around and make a note of any concepts, photography styles or blog post ideas you can draw inspiration from. And don’t worry, I’m not suggesting you embark upon making a visual mood board worthy of A-Level art entry; I sometimes make these kinds of mood boards with no visual imagery at all and just stick with notes and the odd illustration!

Make a note of the blog posts that you, yourself enjoy reading the most – I think that quite often, we become caught up in blog posts that are ‘on trend’ and popular, which can sometimes take the joy out of blogging. Instead, I’d suggest thinking about the kinds of posts that you really love to read and that way, you’ll feel a lot more inspired and most importantly, interested in what you’re writing about!

Shop your beauty stash –Β Personally, I find that because of my horrendously overflowing beauty collection, products can often get lost or forgotten about, and so I like to shop my stash quite regularly which I find can spark ideas and creativity.

Take a look through your blog post archives to see how far you’ve come to get your creative juices flowing again! – As with anything in life, we tend to discredit ourselves and our hard work which can lead to lack of motivation and inspiration, so I think that just taking a look through your ‘early works’ (HA!) is a really great way of objectively viewing your progress, hard work and improvement.

I really hope this post was helpful for those of you who are maybe in a blogging rut ATM, and for those of you that aren’t, save this post on your Bloglovin’ account so it’s there for if you ever need it! Jess x

6 thoughts on “What To Do When You’re In A Blogging Rut & Feeling Uninspired

  1. I’m definitely going to bookmark this page for when I’m feeling a little uninspired. Sometimes blogging gets a little overwhelming, so it’s good to step back and find inspiration in different places to usual.

    Sophie x | Essential Twenty

  2. Fabulous ideas! I always find rereading through old posts and even looking at peoples comments on my posts always pull me out of a blogging rut. Also I think taking it easy and not putting so much pressure on yourself to post or doing something for your blog is also a good way of lighting a spark for blogging again or even just maintaining it x

    Lauren | itslaurenvictoria.blogspot.co.uk

Leave a Reply

