An In-Depth Review Of The Ordinary’s Hyaluronic Acid + B5 & How It Works

IMG_20170515_121854_090-1

I’m sure this brand needs no introduction from me as it’s seemingly taken both the beauty world and blogosphere by storm, but in case you’re still in the dark about The Ordinary, I’ll give you the low down on what it’s all about! This brand sits under the Deciem umbrella, but their simplistic formulas and back-to-basics, no frills approach and packaging means that their products are incredibly affordable, if a little hard to navigate. If you’re not into your skincare and aren’t very knowledgeable about ingredients and formulas, trying to navigate your way through these products will be like a walk in the dark for you, but if you’re willing to do a little research, it could mean magical things for your skin!

So, you might have heard through the grapevine that hyaluronic acid is good for hydration, but if that’s really as far as your knowledge on it goes, I’ll just quickly (promise!) talk through what it does for the skin and how it works! Hyaluronic acid is a humectant ingredient, meaning that it retains moisture and is a hydrating ingredient. However, the effectiveness of hyaluronic acid can differ dramatically within different skincare products depending on the molecular weight of the hyaluronic acid used. Generally speaking, the lower/smaller the molecular weight, the better it can penetrate the skin. The hyaluronic acid in this product is in the form of sodium hyaluronate (a hyaluronic salt), which has a low molecular weight; meaning that this product can penetrate the skin further (the lower epidermis) than just the surface of the skin as a high molecular weight hyaluronic acid would.

Interestingly, hyaluronic acid often derives from chickens’ rooster combs as they contain around 15x the amount of hyaluronic acid that our skin has which, as lovely as that sounds, The Ordinary have obviously steered clear of that route as this product is marked as vegetarian!

The addition of B5 (or panthothenic acid as it’s also known) is great as it, again, amps up the hydration benefits of this product as it acts as a big glass of water for your skin. The hyaluronic acid itself is housed in a muted glass bottle with a pipette style dropper, so the packaging looks very medicinal which I really like as it fits with the brand’s science-led approach.

I typically like to test out skincare for 2 weeks but I’ve now been using this stuff for around 2 months and so I feel like I have some well-rounded thoughts on it. It definitely hydrates and plumps my skin and I don’t feel the need to apply as much moisturiser as I was doing before having used this product in my skincare routine. It absorbs quickly, it layers well with other products which I wasn’t expecting as the formula is quite gloopy, and it instantly hydrates my skin when I skipped my skincare routine the night before and my skin is therefore looking a little scaly and dehydrated.

The cons of this product? There aren’t too many shortcomings with this stuff, but there are a couple of things to note in my opinion. The first of which being that this really does only offer hydration, so it’s definitely not a ‘does it all’ kind of product; if you’re needing/wanting anything else such as anti-aging ingredients, you’ll need to use other products within your routine. And although I’ve noted this as a ‘con’, why should we expect anything more from this product when it’s £5.90!?

The other ‘con’ that I thought was worth a mention is the consistency of this stuff; namely, how it sets on the skin. It sets to a tacky finish (not as tacky as their niacinamide 10% product) so it’s not as pleasant or enjoyable to use as other hyaluronic acid based serums that feel really silky and just glide over the skin! But again, for £5.90, this should be overlooked!

I don’t know about you, but after becoming a little sick (a LOT sick) of overpriced skincare products that are packed full with mineral oil, parabens, fragrance, alcohol, sulphates (the list goes on) and that definitely are not worthy of their £100+ price tags, The Ordinary is so refreshing and their effective, affordable formulas are giving other brands a run for their money which I very much enjoy! Have you tried anything from this brand yet?

8 thoughts on “An In-Depth Review Of The Ordinary’s Hyaluronic Acid + B5 & How It Works

  1. This is so in depth, thorough and beautifully written! I just recently started using hyaluronic acid (not from Ordinary tho). And I’m looking forward to how my skin responds to it. I’ll be sure to check out this brand

Leave a Reply

