A Guide To Pixi’s Glow Tonic, How It Works & Review

IMG_20170628_141333_819

As a self-professed skincare fanatic; particularly with acid exfoliators, oils and cleansers, I think I’m fairly well-versed in the skincare department and so I thought I’d dedicate an entire post to this product, which has been a resident in my skincare drawer for a good year and a half now. It almost seems like tradition to begin these types of posts with a quick introduction to my skin type and why I use this product, so I’ll give a brief overview – my skin is very normal with a hint of dehydration, and I like liquid exfoliants because I have a few broken capillaries on my face so it’s a rarity for me to want to use a physical/manual exfoliator as I don’t want to exacerbate them or induce any more redness!

So, on to the product in question itself. This has become a cult-classic amongst bloggers, skincare experts and industry leaders within the skincare field and it’s almost instantly recognised by nearly all beauty bloggers by now I’d say! But just in case you’re not overly sure about what it is, or maybe you have an inkling but don’t really know too much about these kinds of products, I’ll do my best to summarise it without rambling or going off on a tangent! Glow tonic is a liquid exfoliant; liquid exfoliants are acids and are typically AHA (alpha hydroxy acid) or BHA (beta hydroxyl acid) based that are best applied by dousing a cotton pad and sweeping them over the skin after cleansing. Both are very different so it’s important to know which acid is in your chosen liquid exfoliant! AHAs are typically derived from fruits, milk and sugar and are often listed as lactic, malic or glycolic acid; the latter being the type of acid used in glow tonic. BHAs are typically listed as salicylic acid and while AHAs work to break down and dissolve dead skin cells, BHAs are oil-soluble, which makes them less appropriate for those with dullness or dry skin concerns, and more suited towards those with acneic or blemish-prone skin or an excessively oily skin type. So, glow tonic is an AHA based (glycolic – sugar cane derived) exfoliant, and is better suited for those will dullness, dryness and those with any pigmentation or scarring concerns.

I find glycolic to be the most effective of the acids for my skin, and that’s probably because glycolic has the smallest molecules of all of its other AHA counterparts and so by the general rule of ‘the smaller the acid, the deeper the penetration’, glycolic is able to penetrate more deeply than other AHAs and so offers more effective and visibly noticeable results. And even though that gives the impression that glow tonic is harsher than other liquid exfoliants, it’s actually really quite mild and not too astringent as the concentration of glycolic only sits at 5%. Because of its fairly mild nature, it makes it perfect for those new to acid exfoliators, using frequently, and for those with a more sensitive skin type.

And although this is my most reached for liquid exfoliant, I intermittently use others with stronger concentrations of acid, but glow tonic is my favourite for a couple of reasons; the first of which being its alcohol free formula. Unlike most other products of its kind, it has absolutely no alcohol in it which I love it for, and so it doesn’t leave the skin stripped or dry to touch. In fact, I find that it does the opposite because the formula features quite a few different humectants (ingredients that attract moisture to the skin) such as glycerin and glucose. Ginseng also features on the ingredients list, which is known to induce and promote collagen production.

In short, I love that although this is fairly mild and therefore suitable for frequent use, the formula is so effective and rids my skin of any dryness and corrects any dullness. Also worthy of mention here is that although I’ve referred to this as a ‘fairly mild’ formula a few times, you are still essentially taking away from your skin and so SPF is essential after application; I would personally recommend a physical SPF as I’m wary of the controversial ingredients within chemical SPFs at the best of times, let alone with fresh skin that tends to be more absorbent.

I think I’ve covered everything there! Let me know if there’s anything I’ve missed and also if you’ve tried this product and what you think of it πŸ™‚ Jess x

 

8 thoughts on “A Guide To Pixi’s Glow Tonic, How It Works & Review

  1. I absolutely loved this tonic, although I have to only use it a couple of times a week because on sensitive skin it can be that little bit too intense! I totally agree on the drying front, as someone with dry skin I hate using exfoliators and feeling parched after, but this doesn’t leave my skin feeling dehydrated at all! xx

    http://www.iridescentplaces.com

  2. This looks so cool, the photos are gorgeous! I’ve always wanted to try the Pixi Glow Tonic but it’s just one of those products that I’ve never got round to as I’m drowning in other chemical exfoliators (that sounded a lot better in my head than written down ahahah)! Have you ever tried Clinique skincare? They do a fab range with a chemical exfoliator which is soooo good!

    1. Thank you! Would highly recommend – it’s at a great price point compared with most others but without the rubbish ingredients. I have to be honest, I’ve never been a fan of clinique’s skincare line – too much alcohol in everything for me! I think they recently reformulated their clarifying lotion though so now it has no alcohol? Do really want to try the take the day off cleansing balm though πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

