Is Tom Ford’s Nude Dip Eyeshadow Palette Worth Its Price Tag?

IMG_20170712_113920_521IMG_20170712_120119_266IMG_20170712_120226_656

This pricey lil pallete has now been residing within my makeup collection for about a year, and although it did cost me a pretty penny (£66 to be precise), it’s proven itself as a worthwhile purchase as it has fast become the apple of my eyeshadow drawer’s eye.

When spending over £60 on an eyeshadow quad, I feel it important to note how much product, gram for gram, you’re getting in exchange for your money. Of course, nothing is going to detract from the fact that this is a highly-priced palette but, the palette does offer 10g of product which, when compared to other offerings on the market such as Charlotte the Chanel and Charlotte Tilbury quads, is a good amount of product as they contain around 6g of product. So, although the price seems steeper than most initially, the price to product ratio is actually a lot better than most other high-end offerings.

The shade selection itself is beautifully cohesive and leans more towards the cooler side of the spectrum but there is a slight warmth running through all of the shades which, in my opinion, makes this palette modern and more wearable than if the shades were overly cool. I particularly love the top left shade as whilst being a champagne highlight shade that offers an almost metallic finish that we expect from a shade such as this, it has a golden undertone which is beautiful. The shade to the right of this one is a sort of muted rose-golden copper; the bottom left shade is a warm taupe and the shadow to the right of this is what I can only describe as a minky shade. P.S. The shades themselves aren’t named, so my swatches above go from top left, top right, bottom left and bottom right.

All four of these shadows have an incredibly emollient, creamy formula which makes them a dream to work with, blend and layer. The first three shades are definitely shimmers but the last shade in this quad is more of a satin finish; making it great for adding definition. I think the shimmers in this palette really do look very ‘high end’ as they give that sort of wet, sheeny editorial finish which I absolutely adore. Most eye shadows crease on my lids after an hour or so of wear, but I find these shadows to wear for a good 6 hours on my lids before showing signs of creasing which is really good going for me.

As with most products with a premium price tag, the worthiness of this palette is relative to what you like to/can spend on makeup products. If you can comfortably purchase this palette, I would say definitely do so; the quality of the shadows is impeccable and it is a beautiful palette. But if purchasing this palette would be ‘stretching the budget’, I’d say give this a miss and go for something similar but with a more reasonable price such as Zoeva’s palettes, a Tarte palette or a Stila one; all of which I would recommend.

Hope you enjoyed this review and maybe found it helpful! Jess x

5 thoughts on “Is Tom Ford’s Nude Dip Eyeshadow Palette Worth Its Price Tag?

  1. It’s so pretty, but the price omg…. I’d rather buy a Natasha Denona palette (the ones with 5 colors if I’m not mistaken)

    carolinasmakeuplife.blogspot.pt

Leave a Reply

