A Sneak Peek Of The Clarins Autumn Makeup Collection, Review & Swatches

IMG_20170726_120423_075OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOI000002IMG_20170727_112752_640OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

*This collection was kindly sent to me by Clarins as PR sample

With every season that comes around, I’m always excited for Clarins’ seasonal releases. I love that they stay true to their classic, understated makeup roots, but also inject pops of colour from time to time in to their collections. I’m particularly excited about this Autumnal collection as it strays from the clichΓ©d warm toned shadows and burnt orange hues that we’re all so used to seeing in this season, and instead offers something a little bit different. This collection is named ‘Graphik’ and will be available in August online and on counters.

I’ve included pictures of me wearing my favourite products within the collection, but I have tried everything out within the last couple of days. As you’ll know if you’ve been around these parts for a while, I’m very much a neutral, natural makeup lover, but I really do have a soft spot for editorial makeup and so the Ombre Matte Cream-To-Powder shadow in ‘midnight blue’ really caught my eye. It’s the most beautiful sapphire blue with a slight hint of shimmer running throughout it, and I really love the formula of these ombre mattes as they have that same ease of application as a cream shadow, but the powder, matte finish ensures that no creasing or movement happens after application. I think the colour pigment of this shadow is fairly unique and the richness and deepness of it strangely makes it quite wearable; I just applied a matte brown shadow through my crease, applied the Clarins shadow on my mobile lid with my finger and then diffused the edges with a fluffy brush.

IMG_20170727_112629_502

Another favourite of mine within this collection is the Graphik Ink Liner in ‘intense black’ which, dare I say it, is the best liquid felt-tip liner I’ve ever used. It’s quite a wet formula, and so if you’re not the best at creating a winged liner look, it might not be for you, but I really like that about it. It’s incredibly rich in pigment and the felt-tip nib makes it so easy for achieving that really precise wing and line. I wore it from around 9am until I removed my makeup at around 7pm, and it hadn’t transferred on to the upper part of my lids, which is a big thing for me as my hooded lids mean that almost all liners transfer and print on to the areas around my orbital bone and just above my crease. I would highly, highly recommend picking this liner up if you’re in need of a new liquid liner.

As always, a 4-colour shadow palette features in this collection, and this season’s ‘forest’ addition houses three beautiful olive neutral tones, and a pearlescent pink highlight shade. The shadows themselves are formulated with mineral pigments, and so the consistency is quite dry, which I know a lot of people don’t enjoy, but the formula means that you can also use them wet and so they’re quite versatile in that respect. Again, I’ve seen quite a few bloggers commenting on the low intensity of pigment and colour pay off in these shadow palettes, but I think the average consumer wants something fairly subtle and gentle colour pigment for everyday usage and so I quite like the shadows.

IMG_20170727_113841_814-1

Lastly, the collection features two lip liners, a blush and three lipsticks. I just have one lip liner and two lipsticks to share with you; all of which I think are fab. The Joli Rouge lipsticks are, by a mile, the creamiest lipsticks I’ve ever used and are just so incredibly buttery. I’m wearing the shade ‘litchi’ here, and it’s a beautiful warm toned pinky vermillion hue with a satin finish. If you’ve never used the Joli Rouge lipsticks before, I’d suggest swatching one when you’re next in the vicinity of a Clarins counter – the creaminess is outta this world. I also have the shade ‘deep red’, which I’m sure needs no description, and the lip liner in ‘red’, which is again, very creamy and rich in pigment.

Have any of these products caught your eye? Jess x

11 thoughts on “A Sneak Peek Of The Clarins Autumn Makeup Collection, Review & Swatches

  1. The eye looks that you created are so pretty! Love the packaging of this collection.

    carolinasmakeuplife.blogspot.pt

Leave a Reply

