My Skin, Body & Hair Care Favourites Throughout July

IMG_20170705_142219_517

Us British folk don’t like to jinx things by talking all things summery too often, but as meteorlogically, our summer ends on the 31st of August, I’m going to write this blog post in the hopes that the bouts of sunny weather that allow us to enjoy al fresco dining, ’99s’ and clothing that actually bares our limbs will continue until then! I was planning on amalgamating both body/face/hair care and makeup in to this one post but I thought it best to separate the two for fear that this post would end up resembling a dissertation of sorts!

Skin 

Trilogy’s Vital Moisturising Cream SPF15 – I’m a fussy customer when it comes to SPF; I tend to steer clear of chemical SPFs as a lot of the active ingredients used within them aren’t FDA approved, and produce free radicals which, as we know, cause skin damage and aging. Zinc oxide is listed within the first 5 ingredients of this SPF though so it’s a physical sunscreen, which I much prefer to use (physical (mineral) sunscreens are zinc oxide or titanium dioxide based) and I really like it because it really is very moisturising as it’s blended with rosehip oil, and it’s fast-absorbing.

Clarins Hydra Essentiel Silky Cream – This moisturiser is targeted towards those with normal to dry skin and although I find it to be really emollient and hydrating, it absorbs fairly quickly which makes it perfect for the mornings. I find it quite hard to come by moisturisers that are intensely hydrating but still lightweight, so this is an essential (pardon the pun) for me!

Liz Earle’s Instant Boost Skin Tonic Spritzer – Although I feel I look like a high-maintenance princess when I whip this out in public and start spritzing my face, it really is fab for when you feel your skin looks a bit drab in the middle of the day, if you’re a bit hot and bothered, or to wake yourself (and your skin) up first thing in the mornings.

Vichy’s Double Glow Peel Mask – I tend to love any AHA based product, but I tend to favour glycolic and fruit acids as an exfoliant, and so I love this mask as I’ve found it to be a mild, yet effective jelly-esque formula that rids my skin of its dullness and imparts a bit of glowiness.

Body 

Dove Summer Glow Lotion – I believed this is now housed in different packaging, but the formula itself is all kinds of magical for those who don’t really want to do the full on fake tan thing. It’s a body lotion blended with gradual tan and subtle shimmer and it imparts the perfect amount of faux bronze glow. It looks really natural, and is so fail-safe – perf for fake tan noobs like myself.

Bath & Body Works’ Watermelon Lemonade Body Cream – Whilst I tend to ration this out as Bath & Body Works is unfortunately far out of my reach, I love to apply this over my décolletage as the scent hangs around for longer than other body creams/butters within my collection, and it keeps everything looking nice and hydrated.

& Other Stories’ Méditerranéen Body Scrub – P-LEASE go and give this a whiff next time you’re in the vicinity of an & Other Stories store – you will end up walking out with one in hand. This is the most deliciously scented body scrub in the world – ever. It smells citrusy, fruity and a little flowery all at once. It is quite a coarse scrub so not one for those with overly sensitive skin, but I love it so, so, so much.

Hair

OUAI’s Hair Oil – This is unlike all other hair oils I’ve used; it’s incredibly nourishing whilst managing to be very lightweight at the same time. It’s a saviour for me on days where the humidity is too much for my hair as it keeps it under control, and the musky, jasmine infused perfume-esque scent is beautiful.

Lee Stafford’s Coco Loco Heat Protection Spray – I don’t know about you, but summer weather often dries my hair out and so any hydrating mists and oils are welcome. I use this prior to styling my hair and I’ve recently also just started to spritz it on when my hair feels a little dry as it amps up the hydration; it smells glorious and of real coconuts, and is formulated with 0% alcohol – yay!

*All products featured in this post (apart from the Bath & Body Works cream, & Other Stories scrub and Dove lotion) are PR samples.

What are your summer beauty essentials and have you tried any of these products? Jess x

12 thoughts on “My Skin, Body & Hair Care Favourites Throughout July

  1. The Dove gradual tan is one of my all time favourites. I love how it builds up if you use it for a few days in succession – just as good as a full on fake tan but so much easier! x

    Kate Louise Blogs

  2. You’ve included SO many gorgeous products! I’m loving lee stafford at the moment – he does an amazing hair mask (“for hair that never grows past a certain length”) which smells amazing and I leave in my hair for hours haha. I really want to try out some ouai products, everyone has such good things to say about them!

    madi x

    madiwilliams.com

    1. Aaaah yes I’ve had a whiff! It smells like Thierry mugler’s Angel perfume to me though – least favourite perfume scent ever I think haha! Loove the scent of this spray though. They’re fab – expensive but worth it if you fancy treating yourself x

Leave a Reply

