My Top Five High-End Foundations

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Though I rarely wear a full face of foundation these days, my overflowing wardrobe of bases, tinted moisturisers and creams of the alphabet kind has been well and truly tried and tested over the years. Some of my absolute favourites have been discontinued along the way (Laura Mercier’s Silk Crème, I’m looking at you), but choosing my top five was pretty painless! Disclaimer: some of these ‘foundations’ aren’t strictly foundations, but they all offer the same sort of coverage, so I didn’t think I was cheating too much!

For reference, I have very normal; dehydrated on occasion skin, and my preference lies with lightweight foundations that sit somewhere between a light to medium coverage and give a natural, slightly dewy-ish finish.

The most recent addition of all of these foundations is the ILIA Vivid Foundation. I’m really in to my natural products, but natural foundations have always let me down in the past. The formula tends to not be reliable, to split and almost curdle after a couple of months. And because natural foundations tend to omit the silicones that make foundation so creamy, smooth and pleasurable to apply, they don’t tend to have that luxurious feel, but this foundation is extremely creamy and applies very much like a non-natural foundation. Of all my foundations, I feel best when I’m wearing this one as I don’t worry about toxic ingredients, chemicals and preservatives (which is one of the reasons why I rarely wear foundation in the first place). This gives a very natural finish, and has fairly good longevity for a natural foundation.

Chanel’s Vitalumiere Aqua – I’ve been harping on about this one for a good couple of years now, but I honestly can’t ever see myself finding a foundation I love as much as this one. It leans a little towards dewy, but the foundation itself is undetectable no matter how much I seem to apply. It almost melts in to the skin; becoming one with it, and I love it so much.

Dior’s BB Crème – I have a love/hate relationship with this one; I love the product itself, but I hate the price tag. Dior have always claimed that this is packed with active ingredients, but they don’t list the ingredients. After doing a little of my own research, I eventually found the ingredients list, and the ‘active’ ingredients are listed right at the bottom of the list, which means that they’re hardly worth mentioning at all. Regardless, I love the medium coverage that this offers; it blends exceptionally well and offers a non-dewy, natural finish which is hard to come by with BB creams. It does oxidise, so I’d recommend picking up a shade lighter than you normally would!

Clinique’s Even Better is what I like to think of as a pretty standard formulation. It’s a very grown up formula; very creamy, evens the skin tone nicely and offers a medium coverage. The finish is really quite dewy, and so if you like that, this is definitely a foundation worth looking at.

Lastly, but most definitely not least, is the BareMinerals Complexion Rescue Cream. I really do think that this is worthy of every single piece of hype it ever received. This is the creamiest formula of them all, and looks absolutely beautiful on the skin when applied with any brush or sponge. The gel-cream hybrid formulation is fairly unique in that while being extremely creamy, the gel consistency gives it a lightweight feel that glides over the skin and blends in seamlessly. LOVE.

Are any of these foundations your favourites, too? Jess x

10 thoughts on “My Top Five High-End Foundations

Leave a Reply

