My Autumn Reading List

AirBrush_20170915112848

Although I will always reserve the greater part of my blog for beauty-related ramblings, I’d really like to begin sharing more book reviews; maybe a book club would be something of interest to you? Let me know! As an avid reader, I make my way through books awfully quickly and always have my nose stuck in either a historical or psychological thriller novel, and so I thought I’d share my current reading list with you. And actually, since writing this post two days ago, I’ve already made my way through the entirety of one – oops!

I buy most of my books from eBay sellers; primarily because I think it’s more environmentally friendly to pass on pre-owned books, but also because they’re incredibly affordable. If a book is written by a relatively unknown, up-and-coming author, then I’ll buy direct to support them, but for older books or books from reputable authors, I don’t feel too guilty about buying through eBay!

In a dark, dark wood by Ruth Ware – In all honesty, I’m not holding out too much hope for this one in the likability stakes. I already majorly dislike the protagonist, and it’s not the most gripping of plots or writing styles. Part of the synopsis reads: ‘What should be a cozy and fun-filled weekend deep in the English countryside takes a sinister turn’, which obviously intrigued me, but, at 60 pages in, I’m starting to choose watching Netflix over picking this up again, which is never a good sign with a book!

The Shadow Year by Hannah Richell – This is the aforementioned book that I finished reading in two days. It comprises of two stories; one in the present, and one in the past. I much preferred the latter story about a group of young graduates who decide to ‘live off the land’ for a year when they stumble upon an abandoned cottage by a lake. I’d describe this book as a slow burner; it takes a while to really get going, but the last third of this book is where things really become interesting and the twist really shocked me. I’d highly recommend this book; the simplistic writing style makes this a very easy read, and I loved the plot.

The Boleyn Inheritance by Philippa Gregory – I’m absolutely infatuated with the Tudors; in fact, I’m actually going to Hampton Court Palace this weekend! I bought this book because although I’ve read so much non-fiction surrounding the Tudor period, I’ve yet to read a fictitious novel about Henry VIII and his…many wives! Although I’ve yet to read any of Philippa’s works, I admire her ability to gain such popularity even though we all know the endings to her novels.

I’ve Got You Under My Skin by Mary Higgins Clark – I think of this author as a true, classic crime-thriller author, so I’m expecting good things from this book! The plot sounds quite simplistic and un-frilly, but sometimes that can be a good thing.

Have you read any of these books? Jess x

 

6 thoughts on “My Autumn Reading List

Leave a Reply

