The Beauty Products I Turn To When I’m Poorly

AirBrush_20171026091116

For all of its cosy niceness, this time of the year also unfortunately plays host to a lot of coughs, colds; both of which I’ve fallen victim to already! And while I like to leave my body to heal itself for the most part, there are a few beauty products that I turn to in my hour of poorly need.

When I’m feeling…gunged up (lovely), I love nothing more than feeling as though my skin is thoroughly cleansed, because it makes me feel a bit fresher, brighter and not as groggy. I love the Grown Alchemist Olive Leaf Cleanser because of the gentle formula and consistency; it’s sort of a creamy-balmy hybrid and I really enjoy the botanical-like scent when I’m not feeling so chirpy. I’m always drawn to this when I’m not feeling my best because the first named ingredient, olive leaf extract, is high in antioxidants, which allow the skin to flush itself of toxins. I would, however, recommend approaching this with caution if you’re sensitive to essential oils.

As I’m sure is the case with most people, I find that my skin becomes more dehydrated when I’m ill, and so I like to use a mask to target said dehydration and rebalance my skin before applying my usual skincare routine. My favourite hydrating facial mask is the Burt’s Bees Intense Hydration Treatment Mask, and it always seems to give my skin that boost that it needs when lacking in the hydration department. It’s formulated with some really nice ingredients; particularly clary sage, which works as a sort of emollient as it traps and retains moisture on the surface layer of the skin, but again, as this is a ‘natural’ product, there are a couple of ingredients that could cause irritation , such as orange peel and coconut oil.

Contrary to their name, I actually love using a few drops of these Weleda body oils in my bath when I’m feeling drab; they infuse the bath water with a beautiful hint of wild rose and pomegranate scent, and work to moisturise the skin too, without you having to lift a finger!

*PR samples – all products featured

What products do you turn to when you’re poorly? Jess x

One thought on “The Beauty Products I Turn To When I’m Poorly

Leave a Reply

