My November Reading List

AirBrush_20171112132556.jpg

Although I rarely find myself browsing the makeup aisles or shopping for beauty products and clothes nowadays, the same can’t be said for my relentless purchasing of books! Not the worst thing to be buying though, are they? I seem to get through books nearly as quickly as they’re delivered, so I thought I’d do another of these posts and talk through what I’ve picked up to read this month!

In my attempt to step away (only slightly) from the psychological thriller genre, I picked up two books within the historical fiction genre, which is my second favourite genre. The Ashes of London by Andrew Taylor seems to offer the best of both worlds, as it explores the aftermath of the Great Fire of London, and of the murder of a man found at St Paul’s Cathedral; the main theme in both being desolation and death obviously. Really looking forward to reading this one!

I finally got around to picking up The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead! This is a book that has found itself the recipient of a plethora of awards, including the winner of the Pulitzer Prize this year, which made me want to read it even more. The protagonist is Cora, a slave on a cotton plantation in Georgia, and the story follows her life and what happens when Caesar, a newly arrived slave tells her of the secret ‘underground railroad’ which they then use to escape together. As with all stories, not all goes as planned! Another book in a similar vein to this which I love is Uncle Tom’s Cabin, and so I’m looking forward to reading another story surrounding the lives of black people in the pre-Civil War era.

I haven’t read a good piece of gothic literature in a long while, so I picked up The Book Collector by Alice Thompson, which is a story of mutilation and madness. So. Up. My. Street. Lady Violet marries a wealthy man, who can seemingly offer her everything she’s ever wanted, but after discovering a few things about her new husband, she soon finds herself confined in the local asylum. ‘As she recovers and is released a terrifying series of events is unleashed.’

Lastly, I picked up The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel because everyone and their Aunt Nellie seems to be reading and loving it. ‘Roanoke girls never last long around here. In the end, we either run or we die.
After her mother’s suicide, fifteen year-old Lane Roanoke came to live with her grandparents and fireball cousin, Allegra, on their vast estate in rural Kansas. Lane knew little of her mother’s mysterious family, but she quickly embraced life as one of the rich and beautiful Roanoke girls. But when she discovered the dark truth at the heart of the family, she ran fast and far away.

Eleven years later, Lane is adrift in Los Angeles when her grandfather calls to tell her Allegra has gone missing. Did she run too? Or something worse?’

Have you read any of these books? Jess x

Leave a Reply

