A Few Tips For Styling Your Blog & Instagram Photos

IMG_20170811_121027_973-1

When it comes to blogging, it’s not so much about taking photos as it is making a photo. Anyone can take a bird’s eye shot of a lipstick, but styling your photos allows you to create a brand, to enhance your photography, and to evoke emotion within your reader. Styling my blog and Instagram photography has been quite the challenge for me, but I think I’m finally getting to grips with it!

Using cohesive colour palettes – Creating a coherent photography style and colour palette will allow you to strengthen your branding, and doesn’t have to limit you. For example, using pastel pink hues doesn’t have to restrict you to just using pinks; pastel blues, greens and purples will all compliment each other whilst still allowing you to incorporate a wide range of colours but still retain that cohesiveness.

Adding height and texture to create interest – As much as I love a flatlay with a crisp, white background, I do think that adding height and texture can really enhance a shot. I like to do this by standing products on a couple of books and adding in textured fabrics such as scarves and fabric samples.

Using shallow depth of field and composition to accentuate the main subject – I think this point is pretty self-explanatory, but using a lens (or editing tools) that allow you to focus on your main subject in the foreground and blur the background is a great way of letting your reader know what the post is about.

Carefully selecting props – I find it all too easy to go overboard with props, but I think it’s really important to choose props that complement, rather than compete with each other and the main subject. Using inappropriate props can also be quite misleading, so stick with props that fit with the theme of your post!

Do you have any other tips? Jess x

14 thoughts on “A Few Tips For Styling Your Blog & Instagram Photos

  1. I’ve really been trying to work on my photos recently and I think it’s finally starting to pay off! They’re not as awesome as yours, but I’m pretty happy with the progress I’ve made recently, especially considering the limited time I’ve spent trying to learn about photography and how to make my photos look better.
    Also, your Instagram photos and aesthetic are beyond adorable!
    Rebecca ♥

Leave a comment